HELLO THERE. WE HEARD U NEED THIS.

It must be said that I’m a pretty bad Canadian. I think my mom put it best when she said that I had “a Canadian passport, but an American soul”. I prefer the Star Spangled Banner to O Canada, and I think putting Canadian in front of anything makes it at least 80% worse. Canadian History (boring), Canadian Literature (YUCK), Canadian Politics (a total snoozefest).

It’s not surprising then that I love following American politics. It’s a whole lot more interesting, and a whole lot more horrifying too (they can just bring the crazy in a way we Canadians haven’t yet come close to). Thanks to my following of American politics I stumbled across this great short story written by a fellow blogger.

It is titled ILU-486 and she summarizes the story as follows:

In the not-so-distant future of Virginia, the Personhood Act has outlawed abortion and chemical birth control. That doesn’t mean they don’t exist, though.

Isn’t that chilling? I highly recommend you go read the story – it doesn’t take much time and it’s an amazing (if terrifying) read. Here’s a link:

ILU-486

If you haven’t read it yet what are you waiting for? Go read it. I promise you won’t regret it. I just wish I could get myself one of those shirts (not to mention all proceeds go to support Planned Parenthood). I hate being a broke student.

Caution: Politics Ahead

What’s really scary is how far right-wing the Republican candidates are this time around. I saw a picture the other day that was captioned: “I miss the days of Sarah Palin being the scariest Republican candidate in history” and I think that really captures it. Sen. Santorum is especially terrifying – my friends wonder why I’m so interested in American politics and fundamentalist Christians and people like Sen. Rick Santorum is why.

To tie this into the story above, Sen. Santorum has said “One of the things I [Sen. Santorum] will talk about, that no president has talked about before, is, I think, the dangers of contraception in this country.” (New York Times: February 29th – “Romney Sets Off Furor on Contraception Bill”).

Electing someone who believes that the availability of birth control has had negative moral and social impacts on America is the way of bringing about the reality of ILU-486. I don’t know about you, but even as a Canadian I don’t want that to be the reality of modern America. The fact that people have even been voting for him to get the Republican nomination – especially that WOMEN have voted for him – makes me cringe.

I’ll be keeping an eye on American politics just as I always have – even though I can’t change them, I can still be aware of what’s going on. Can you say the same?

- Kali

PS: If you still haven’t read ILU-486 here’s the link again: ILU-486.

2 thoughts on “HELLO THERE. WE HEARD U NEED THIS.

  1. Not to mention that birth control helps those with PCOS to keep the symptoms at bay. Basically, they’re denying an important method of treatment for PCOS, which could be deadly if left untreated! I swear, those guys are starting to piss me off so much…

Leave a Reply

