“If it’s Tuesday, it must be Belgium.”

My Comparative Politics professor said this to us on the first day of classes. He was talking about the fact that there is no one correct way to go about comparing things as far as political analysis. I came across this as I was studying my lecture notes for that class because today I had a midterm. As far as university goes it’s basically “If it’s October, it must be midterms”. 

I had my first last week and I had two back to back today (boy is my hand killing me from all the writing). My final one, and the one I’m most worried about, is next week. It’s for my political theory class where we’ve been talking about Orwell (1984), Plato, Hobbes and Rousseau. If my tutorial was anything to go by yesterday though, I’m not alone in feeling confused. Our prof insists that he wants us to have fun, but somehow I doubt it will be. 

Even though I’m not really fond of political theory I find it hard to dislike the class since our prof is pretty fantastic. I don’t think I’ll be taking much more if I can help it though – although I’ll have to take at least one other class, a 300 level one, as it’s a requirement for my diploma. 

I also have two essays due on November 4th (although one of them is just a draft essay) so I’ve been pretty busy with schoolwork and starting the new job. It’s just a retail job, but I actually really like it. My coworkers are nice and so are the customers – not to mention part of my job is straightening things which I love way too much. 

NaNoWriMo starts in 10 days too and even though I’ve got a basic plot I still have some planning to do.

As Dorothy might say: ‘Midterms and Essays and Planning. Oh My!’ 

– Kali

Leave a Reply

