50K

I did it. Last night at the write in I went to I made 50K. Currently I’m at 52,630 and the story is not yet complete (although I am hoping to have it complete by the end of the month). This is my third year doing NaNoWriMo, but for some reason it feels the most triumphant and I’m not sure why.

I’m happy with the way my story is going, but I’m usually happy with the story I write in November. I went to more write ins than ever before (my old record was 4, this year I went to 4 in the first week). My story is proving longer than my previous years, my first two NaNos clocked in at about 53K each, whereas this year I’m expecting it to reach at least 60K. I donated as I always do. As a broke student I probably shouldn’t be, but NaNo has given me so much so it’s the least I can do. This year I’m also ordering a winner’s shirt. Usually I don’t, but the bear in the part hat convinced me.

I may not be sure why this year seems like such a triumph because it’s virtually identical to last year with me being in school full time and working part time (although this year I’m working more and only taking 4 classes instead of 5), but for some reason it does.

I’m also not sure why I never seem to write outside of November, with the exception of Camp NaNoWriMo last July & August. I like writing, it’s fun and it makes me happy, but for some reason I never seem to do it outside of NaNo. I’m hoping to change that this year, even if I only write a little bit, it’s still more than I have in the past.

My purple bar is there (for those of you who aren’t familiar with NaNo, once you validate your 50K+ word count, your word count bar turns purple to signify that you’re a winner) and I completely in love with it as I am every year. Though I do wish it said ‘Winner’ inside it like it used to.

How are the rest of you doing? Have you hit 50K yet? Getting close? I’m cheering for you and can’t wait to see you in the winner’s circle.

– Kali

One thought on “50K

Leave a Reply

