It must be the end of term: I need chocolate.

This blog is happier than my last one. I swear.

I just had my last Women’s Studies course and we spent the 50 minutes reflecting with each other. We sat in a circle and talked about our feelings. Well, mostly we talked about how we have changed because of this course. There were a lot of similar answers from the class and one of those was this: we were more critical about what we were being exposed to. TV shows, music videos, advertisements, they were all being analyzed and called out for their sexist, racist, classist, and subversive messages.

Before this course (Women’s Studies 104) I knew that things weren’t right with media portrayal of women, but I didn’t really have an understanding of what the issues were. I couldn’t identify them or tell anyone else what it was that was damaging, I just knew it was there. This didn’t prevent me from ignoring things that I knew were sexist or some other -ist. It was like, because I didn’t really know a lot about the issues I felt I was capable of pushing it aside and ignoring it. This class has given me the knowledge to know exactly what that ad is doing, and what I can do to stop that effect. The most effective and easiest way to stop the influence, is to talk about it. If you’re watching TV with your roommates (or whoever you live with, if you live with someone) and something happens that others you and you know it’s, say, sexist, call it out. Say something about the issue and have a discussion or small talk about it with whoever else is there. If no one is ever made aware of the issues, they will continue to happen and the message will continue to be received.

This isn’t to say that you have to consider yourself a feminist, or charge out to save the world from the numerous issues that plague it. The little things do just as much as the big things, if not more. Awareness is crucial. If no one is aware, no one can think.

Enough of my feminist rant, I only hope that my words have made someone a little more aware and that they are now challenging the status-quo. For a really good resource book to read, check out Jessica Valenti’s “Full Frontal Feminism.”

~.*.~

On November 30th at 8:35 pm, I passed 50,000 words on my nano novel and officially won Nanowrimo. By the end of the night, I had reached 51,744 words. What must have been the most enjoyable part of the evening, though, was being able to sit in McDonalds with fellow novelists who were also racing towards the Nanowrimo finish line. When the clock struck twelve, all of us commenced in a group hug and jumped up and down while squealing our joy that this intimidating obstacle had been defeated. The people I have met through nano, and the friendships that have developed because of it, have done nothing but enrich my life; and that is something that I am truly grateful for. I may have met Kali, the other author of this blog, in Sign Language Class, but it was Nanowrimo that created our friendship, and that is something I would never give up.

This year I am determined to finish my novel, and not just reach 50,000 words and stop. My first nano, last year, I started with only the knowledge that my FMC was an orphan and healer. That story will one day be a four book series that I hope to see sold on bookstore shelves around the world. My next nano endeavour was Camp Nano this past August. Once again my story reached 50,000 words, but isn’t complete. This one, at least, will not be a series. That leaves this year’s novel. My hopes for this novel is that it will just be this one book, and that the total word count won’t be any more than 100,000. I also want to have it finished by the start of my third year of university. I would like to have both my Camp Nano novel and this year’s novel finished by 11:59 on August 31st 2012. It doesn’t have to be the final draft, just a full first draft manuscript for both.

Since the end of November, 2 days ago, I have managed to write a couple hundred words on this year’s nano titled “What Will Florence Do?”

P.S. I broke my promise to not read any new fanfictions, but I only read a couple and kept them to short one shot stories. I am trying really really hard not to read any more, at least until after a couple hours of studying for my exams.

~Rachel

Leave a Reply

