December Plans

Our Christmas Tree

The tree at my place has been up for a couple of weeks, but Rachel and I decorated it just the other night (with a little help from my mom and her boyfriend). My mom almost always moves the decorations after letting me decorate it because she would prefer it her way and this time was no exception – although she did redecorate it less this time. I guess that means Rachel has a better eye for decoration than I do.

We’ve decided to make an effort to put more pictures into our posts to try to make them more interesting, but I keep forgetting to take my camera with me when I go places. I will try harder although admittedly I’m not going many places that aren’t work right now.

Rachel’s not going home for Christmas this year so she’ll be spending Christmas with us instead. My mom and I (and now Rachel and mom’s boyfriend) are just doing stockings for each other. Mom is easy enough to buy for since I’ve been doing it for years, and I know Rachel well enough to know what will make her happy (I’ve ordered her a few things from Etsy. One has shipped and one, according to my calculations should ship on Thursday), but mom’s boyfriend is proving more difficult. Rachel and I basically harassed him the other night trying to figure out what to buy him.

I’m trying to get some shopping done alongside working and studying for exams. Fortunately the holiday season means that most stores are open later so I can go after work. My exams start this Saturday with my European Integration and the European Union exam. I’m not insanely nervous about that one, but I am about my Political Theory one next Tuesday. I’m pretty sure I’m only going into Theory with a B- and the exam is worth 40% of my mark (YIKES). There’s nothing I can do but study and hope I do alright. At least Theory will be over in a week.

On a happier school note though, textbooks lists went up December 1st. Unfortunately the texts for my Greek and Roman Mythology and my Religion in Europe classes weren’t there yet, and I’m hoping to pick up a used copy of my International Relations text, but I did manage to get 2/3 of the texts for my History of the Modern Middle East class. One is War and Peace in the Middle East by Avi Shlaim, and the other is A History of the Modern Middle East by William Cleveland and Martin Bunton. I haven’t taken a look at either yet (and I wont until after my exams), but they look interesting. It also turns out that one of mine and Rachel’s mutual friends is in my History of the Modern Middle East class which is great. We met her in our sign language class last year as well and I haven’t had a class with her since.

I’m going to go make lunch now and then get back to studying the European Union. Our NaNo Thank God It’s Over (TGIO) party is on Friday so I’m losing that study time, but it’s completely worth it. Also, I finished the actual story of my NaNo novel on November 26th at 61,334 words and started something new (not the sequel though. I needed a break from that world for a while). Unfortunately I haven’t done any work on the new novel since the Sprint to the Finish we had in our region on November 30th. Maybe I’ll get back to it after exams.

Also, I ordered a dress for the Yule Ball from ModCloth. I hope it gets here in time since it’s only 23 days away. It’s supposed to arrive here by Friday at the earliest and the 28th at the latest. Everything I’ve read tells me their shipping tends to be pretty fast. Fingers crossed.

– Kali

Leave a Reply

