Social Butterfly?

Our region had our TGIO (Thank God It’s Over) Party for NaNoWriMo on Friday. It was, as always, a whole lot of fun. There were 22 of us there – although only 20 of us had been active NaNo participants. One of our Municipal Liaisons (MLs)brought her wife and a friend of mine brought one of our mutual friends along. It was nice to be over 20 people though since it meant we finally got to take advantage of the pizza deal where we got unlimited two topping pizza for a flat rate each (I think it was something like 10.99?).

My Social Butterfly Award

During our party one of our MLs handed out prizes for various things such as highest word count, best use of an owl (it was a regional challenge), and there was even an award called the social butterfly award. I was shocked to find out that I won that one! When I really think about it it’s not that surprising given that I went to almost all the write ins this year, but at the same time being called social is definitely a new one for me. I suppose it’s all about the people though, after all, I was social and rather outgoing at Wrockstock as well. Apparently awesome people bring out the awesome in me.

I had my first exam on Saturday evening (for my European Union (EU) class). I went up to the school an hour an a half early to study with a friend of mine. We originally met each other in a history class we both took last year (History of the 20th Century), but have really become friends this year since we’ve been sitting together in class. We’re going to be in the same International Relations class next semester with the same prof as this class and we’re excited for that too. I think we may have freaked out a few people on campus as we drilled each other on the EU, but it was helpful. I think the exam went well too which is good because I’m doing really well in that class and I don’t want to jeopardize that with a bad final exam mark. My next exam is tomorrow night and it’s my Political Theory one. I feel so wrung out from studying theory and really just want it to be over already. I don’t know how well it’s going to go, but I’m also pretty sure I’m almost as ready as I’m ever going to be.

On another social note though, we had our staff holiday party last night. We did a secret gift exchange and I ended up with a pair of tea towels and a $10 gift card to the mall where we all work. I’m happy with what I got and I think everyone else was as well. We also had a Christmas Quiz, which I won. I was surprised by that too, especially considering that there were a few questions that I had no idea about so I just wrote down information about the EU and political theory. I guess I made up for that by knowing the names of all 9 of Santa’s reindeer though. The party was fun, though admittedly not as much fun as TGIO. It was a little more low key, but then again I don’t know my coworkers quite as well and I don’t have as much in common with most of them as I do with my NaNo friends.

Textbook wise, I’ve gotten a couple more. I picked up my text for my International Relations class (The Globalization of World Politics by John Baylis, Steve Smith & Patricia Owens) and got two of the textbooks for my History of religion in Europe class (God’s Crucible  by David Levering Lewis and The Origins of Totalitarianism by Hannah Arendt). The Arendt title makes me think of theory class though since we’ve been reading pieces of hers for that class. At first that turned me off a bit, but the subject matter intrigues me and I don’t actually find Arendt as tough to read as some of the others. I’ve still got a couple of books to get, but I’m definitely on my way.

I’ve gotten most of my holiday shopping done, but considering my work and exam schedule for the next couple of days I don’t think I’m going to get it done before Rachel leaves for home, and actually probably won’t get it done until at least the 22nd. I was really hoping not to have to go gift shopping so late again, but school must come first and my last exam is on the 17th and then I work the next couple of days. I suppose I might be able to get it done before/after work though.

I guess it’s time for this social butterfly to go back into hibernation amongst her books until she has to leave for work.

– Kali

Leave a Reply

