Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland

When we first started this blog Rachel wanted to try and keep our location a secret. I do my fair share of reading blogs though and realized that as this is a blog about our lives it would be next to impossible. I’m pretty sure we lasted until I broke the silence when I started talking about the Vancouver Yule Ball. Obviously we’re in Victoria, BC and students at the University of Victoria (UVic).

I bring this up because today we got snow. In a lot of places that wouldn’t be a big deal, but we don’t get snow very often here, and when we do no one quite knows what to do. Almost all of the schools immediately shut down (the universities and colleges take longer, and UVic never technically shuts down) and every news personality tells any Victorians who can to stay home.

Two of my three classes were cancelled today, but my inter-religious history course was still on. I think about 12 people showed up which is about 1/3 of the class. After class I decided to capture some pictures of campus. I only got a couple because, well, it’s cold out there. I’m definitely not made to be a snow dwelling person. I love how it looks, but I wore about 4 layers today and was still cold.

Without further ado, some pictures of UVic in the snow.

Clearihue Courtyard

 

This is the Clearihue Courtyard. Clearihue is one of the oldest buildings on campus. It’s also where I have the majority of my classes. I don’t mind Clearihue, but it isn’t one of the warmer buildings. In the center is a courtyard and that’s where this picture was taken.

 

 

Social Science and Mathematics (SSM). I’m not much a fan of the math, but this

My Favorite Building

is by far my favorite building on campus. Fortunately, as a political science student we fall under Social Science so I’ve gotten to spend quite a bit of time here.  One thing about UVic is that we don’t really have a building that screams university to me. I’m sure you know the ones I mean, the ones that look stately, regal and make you think of learning as serious business. We do have quite a new modern type buildings though (like SSM) and I like those too (even if they aren’t classically beautiful).

 

 

 

 

Someone Made a Snowman!

 

 

This was taken in the courtyard of SSM. I promise all our buildings don’t have courtyards – in fact, these might be the only two. Someone made a bunch of snowmen (snowpeople?) and I had to get a picture of at least one of them. As soon as I saw this one I knew this was the one I wanted for the blog – mostly because I have no idea how it got up there! Somehow someone got it above the door into the B wing of SSM. Does anyone have any idea how it could have gotten up there? Because I certainly don’t.

 

 

 

Where does it lead...

 

When I saw this I just knew I needed to capture it on film. Apparently I’m still a child because it reminds me of Narnia for some reason. The path actually goes to our University Club. That sounds really exciting, but in reality it’s just a place where professors and alumni (I believe) can relax. I was in there once for a political science career night and it was just as cozy as the setting would make you think. It’s scenes like this one that make me actually see what people mean when they say that Victoria is one of the prettiest cities in Canada.

 

 

The Library

 

I don’t really know why we have a partial moat outside out library, but for some reason we do. Getting this picture was actually a bit of a pain because the snow was still high powdery and you have to go down a series steps to get down to it, but I wanted to get a picture of the water all iced over.  I usually forget the water is there, but I noticed it when I was walking to the bus and decided I wanted that picture.The glass corner on the left is part of the library. I promise it looks more impressive than it is in real life. Don’t get me wrong, I love the library, but it’s really not as pretty as it looks in this picture.

 

 

This post ended up being a lot wordier than I expected. Originally I was just going to post the pictures, but then I realized they needed some sort of explanation and now we have one wordy post about snow. It probably won’t last long, and by tomorrow most of it will probably be grey-brown mush (unless we get some more over night), but while it’s here the snow really brightens up my day.

 
In other news, I went to my first Circle K meeting and my volunteer orientation for the radio station. I skipped the networking/internship group though. Next Tuesday is the first meeting for Students for a Free Tibet and I’m still waiting on Ashley and the writing club. I think I’m doing a lot better at actually going to things this semester, I can only hope it holds up. I was also released to start applying for co-op jobs this summer as of Monday so I’ll keep you updated on that front. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

 
– Kali

One thought on “Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland

Leave a Reply

