Co-Prezzie Kali

I’m sure you all remember how I said that I have that bad habit of signing up for clubs and then not going through with actually being a member. I’m sure you also remember that I said I was going to try a lot harder this semester to actually go to meetings.

Well, last night I had my second Circle K meeting. I even managed to drag Rachel since she had signed up too. She’s actually pulling a bit of a Kali this semester. She signed up for a bunch of things – juggling, ballroom dance, Circle K, etc, but isn’t really going to any of the meetings. I can’t really say anything though since, well, I call it pulling a Kali for a reason.

Anyways, at the meeting they needed to nominate a new executive for next year. They needed a whole new executive (Co-Presidents (aka Co-Prezzies), Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer) and told us that if they didn’t get a new executive the club would die. One of the current Co-Prezzies drew a pig on the board and called it Circle K, and told us that if we didn’t step up the pig would die.

People were slow, but stepping up, but they could only get one person to step up to be President. They admitted that they could have a single President, but that it would be a lot more work for that person and a lot more work for the Vice President. For some reason my hand found its way into the air. So, apparently, I’m going to be trained to be one of the new Co-Prezzies. I guess that’s one way to step up and guarantee my club involvement, but it’s certainly not what I expected when I signed up.

I’ve also got my first Students for a Free Tibet (SFT) meeting today. I’m really excited, it’s been far too long since I’ve been involved with the Tibet cause and I didn’t realize just how much I missed it until I rededicated myself. I’m going to let the radio station, networking, and blood drive clubs slide though. With training to be Co-Prezzie of Circle K, throwing myself back into SFT, and being a kind of unofficial aide to the Writing Club Vice President, not to mention still looking for a job and juggling my classes, I think my hands are going to be full enough.

Mom says she thinks I’m going to go off the deep end and join the Peace Corps, but I keep reminding her that as a Canadian citizen, I can’t. However, it’s probably best that I keep the future Co-Prezzie of a freelance volunteer organization under wraps. Yeah, what she doesn’t know won’t hurt her.

In other news, I’m considering doing a Religious Studies minor. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’m going to. She probably doesn’t need to know that either. Now I just need an actual paying job (because as mom keeps reminding me, volunteering doesn’t pay) and the craziness that is my life will be complete.

Okay, maybe I’m a bit nuts.

– Kali

One thought on “Co-Prezzie Kali

Leave a Reply

