I. Am. Insane.

So, as it says above, I am insane. I would have to be, really, to even consider what I have decided to do. Once again, I am double majoring.

That’s right, you read it correctly, I’m double majoring. This time in Women’s Studies (hopefully Honours) and History. Now, I haven’t actually taken any history courses yet, but when Kali and I went through the courses and different departments available at UVic, the one department other then Women’s Studies that had me going “OooOoo! I wanna take that!” was History. So, my second major is now History.

With that written, I think a little history is called for.

As things are, UVic doesn’t have a Masters program for Women’s Studies. That means I would have to get an interdisciplinary degree. This means that I have to have another major, despite how much I may or may not enjoy having one. It is a well known fact that Kali enjoys planning courses, so as soon as I told her this news she came over and we spent a couple hours going through courses and degree requirements. It was finally decided that my second degree would be History. There were a lot of courses (more than I need to take for the degree) that really appealed to me.

Now, a second major isn’t my only option. I could just get a minor in History and go to grad school somewhere else. There are a couple of universities in the country that offer a Masters degree in Women’s Studies. It would be more expensive, but not totally out of the question.

Another option is to get my Bachelors in Women’s Studies and then take a year off until a Masters program is offered at UVic. The WS department is expecting that they should be getting the program between the next two to three years. If everything goes to plan, I should be graduating in two years.

This last option is the most appealing to me, but I don’t want to totally block the double major from being an option either. This basically means that I for this next summer and year, I stick to my current course plan.

Wishing I knew what to do,
Rachel.

One thought on “I. Am. Insane.

  1. It’s okay, I’m a little insane too in that sense. XD At least we’ll be working together on the requirements and, at least in terms of Women’s Studies, we’ll probably be together in almost every class, right? :’3 WE CAN DO IT! XD

Leave a Reply

