Where did I go? What did I do? I know.

So, I had originally planned to have a post about why I was going away for a week, and I even started the post too, it just never got finished. I am going to attempt to summarize why I left in this post. But I’m not going to summarize what I did. 😛

It all started on a cold day in 2003 (I think) when my dad and I were watching TV. There was a commercial on the local channel about Job’s Daughters and my dad mentioned that his sister was a Past Honoured Queen of the local bethel. This got me interested and I asked him some more about it. Then we got in contact with the local bethel and before I knew I was being initiated into the Bethel. I don’t remember a lot about being initiated, but I do remember that there was another girl there with me and her mother was also a Past Honoured Queen of the bethel. I never saw her again.

This was the story of the start of my Job’s Daughters career, which even at this time in my life isn’t over. I was nominated and elected into the line at the end of  June 2007. I was voted up the line for the next two  years, taking four stations until I reached the station of Honoured Queen in June 2009, this was also my Grade 12 year and that was a busy term. I became a Past Honoured Queen of Bethel #29 Campbell River in January 2010 and spent the rest of the term in a station on the floor (not going up the line, duh right?). Then Jobies kind of faded from my life for a little while as I moved to Victoria and started attending university. That changed this summer, though, when I went back home. I was almost 20 and this year would be my last to participate in the Miss British Columbia Job’s Daughters Pageant, so I decided to go for it. Now I am the Grand (or Composite) Bethel Senior Custodian (basically I help set up and take down the Grand Bethel room). Being a part of the Composite Bethel is the only part of Job’s Daughters where you can participate as a daughter but can be over 20.

International Order of Job's Daughters Logo

International Order of Job's Daughters Logo

Now for a brief history and rant on what Job’s Daughters is:

Job’s Daughters is an organization for young women between the ages of 10-20. It teaches leadership, organizational skills, confidence, speaking in front of a crowd, memorization skills, poise, and social skills. It’s a family for all members and a place where young women can go to be themselves and have fun amongst others. It’s founded on the Story of Job, found in the bible with emphasis on the 14th Chapter 15th Verse “In all the land were no women found so fair as the daughters of Job and their father gave them inheritance among their brethren.” It does not mean fair as in beautiful, but fair as in kind.

I have gotten a lot from Job’s Daughters, and every time I go I learn more and create more happy memories. Job’s Daughters is something I will never regret joining and recommend to any young woman interested.

More to come on my week away,
Rachel

Leave a Reply

