To the Lake of Inspiration… OH NO!

Howdy Campers!

Last year the people of the Office of Letters and Light (who bring us NaNoWriMo every year) created Camp NaNoWriMo. It was basically a light version of NaNo with a more relaxed feel because it is in summer so there is no school – plus it was full of camp related jokes. Last summer they held it back to back in July and August. I managed it – as did a lot of other people, but I don’t think I would do it back to back again.

They heard our suggestion and this year the two sessions are split – one in June and one in August. That means that the first session of Camp is coming up in less than two weeks. I was considering writing the sequel to the novel I wrote in November, but I’m having trouble bringing it together. Instead, I’ve decided to write a new idea that has just popped up in my head. There isn’t much to it yet, but I have a bigger problem – a technical problem. The website for Camp NaNoWriMo (www.campnanowrimo.org) is up and running, but it won’t let me in. I’m not the only person having this issue, but it’s still driving me nuts. Technically I don’t need the website to write, but having it is a source of fun. They say they’re working on it (and I’m sure they are), I just hope they manage to get it fixed before kick off on June 1st.

Even if I’m having trouble getting into Camp I’m super excited for it. Come join us down by the Lake of Inspiration (I’ve gotten much better at canoeing after last year when I tipped!) and we’ll even make virtual s’mores!

Too bad I can’t rig up a tent to sleep in.

– Kali

Leave a Reply

