Textbooks Textbooks Textbooks!

That’s right, the lists are up. As much as I love shopping for textbooks though, I hate the actual act of paying for textbooks. I’m pretty sure everyone does to be honest. I’ve considered just buying them on Amazon instead of paying the slightly ridiculous fees you have to pay at the bookstore on campus, but that would just take the joy of doing the actual shopping away. I wouldn’t get to wander the isles of the bookstore looking at all the other books for other classes (and trying to find higher price tags than my own in order to make myself feel better), and I wouldn’t get to take them home right away and crack them open or pick out the book in the best condition.

I just realized how… less than sane that last little bit made me sound. So, onwards with notes on textbooks. For my political theory class I have 5 required texts (YUCK!). These are: Political Writings (by Immanuel Kant), Karl Marx: Selected Writings (by Karl Marx obviously), essential Writings (by Gandhi), On Liberty (by John Stuart Mill), and Mutual Aid (by Petr Alekseevich Kropotkin – can you say that 10 times fast?). The Gandhi sounds kind of cool and it was unexpected, and I’m kind of intrigued by the Marx even if it is the most expensive of the bunch. For my European government class there are two required books – Representative Government in Modern Europe (by Michael Gallagher), and European Democracies (by Markus Crepaz). And my Medieval Studies class also has a haul of books. These are: Saga of the Volsungs (translated by Jesse Byock), Arabian Nights (translated by Husain Haddawy), Beowulf (the Roy Liuzza translation), Celtic Heroic Age (John Toch), and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (W.S. Merwin). Fortunately it seems my religious studies course doesn’t have any textbooks because I already have quite the load.

My main annoyance is: HAVING TO READ THE LIUZZA TRANSLATION OF BEOWULF AGAIN! I HATE THE LIUZZA TRANSLATION!

I’m glad I got that out of my system. On the plus side though, at least I don’t have to buy it again because I already own it from when I had to read it for an English class I took in first year. Sigh. I don’t mind Beowulf, but I don’t like that translation. I’m going to try and go into it with an open mind though. Who knows, maybe I’ll like it better this time.

– Kali

PS: The August session of Camp NaNoWriMo is off to a start and I’m already enjoying it more than June.

Leave a Reply

