Kali, Callie, Kalista, Calina, Kaliana…

Yeah, that’s right, it’s about my name again. I still like Kali, but it just doesn’t seem to pass the ballerina/Supreme Court Justice test.

What is the ballerina/Supreme Court Justice test you ask? (Actually, I bet you didn’t, but I’m going to explain it anyway).

The ballerina/Supreme Court Justice test is something I see on a lot of naming forums when looking for character names. Basically it’s a test to make sure that the name you are choosing would be suitable to any walk of life the person with that name might choose. So, he question is whether the name is nice enough for a ballerina, but serious enough for a Supreme Court Justice. I’ve seen many variations of this test, but my personal favorite is the princess/president version.

Anyways, I’ve been thinking that I don’t think Kali is quite formal enough to pass the test. I would still definitely go by it (that’s what nicknames are for), but I feel like I need something longer for when I actually legally change my name. So, I’ve been looking into alternatives. I’m not particularly attached to the spelling of Kali – I’d be fine with Kallie, Kally, Callie, Cali, and Cally too. That makes it both easier (more names to choose from), and harder (… more names to choose from).

At the moment the ones in competition are: (with [name] (nickname))

Kalista (Kali)

Calina (Cali)

Kaliana (Kali)

Calliope (Callie)

Kalliope (Kallie)

Kaliyah (Kali)

Out of those I think I probably like Kalista, Calina, Calliope/Kalliope, and Kaliyah best, but I’m just not sure.

As much as I like that I have the ability to choose my own name it is fairly difficult. Although, I suppose it’s kind of like naming a character – difficult, but worthwhile in the end.

– Kali/Cali/Kallie/Callie

 

 

Leave a Reply

