Nanowrimo is here!

Praise the literary gods, everyone!

Yes, you read correctly, the fabulous and wonderful Nanowrimo is finally upon us again. I’ve eagerly awaited its return with great anticipation, and I was not disappointed. Now, to celebrate the return of the wonderful Nanowrimo, a bunch of us (of course Kali was there) met at one of the 24 hour McDonalds in our city (that also has power outlets and free wifi, the wonderful and much needed things that those are) for 11pm and socialized before midnight rolled around and we then we all set our fingers to a fast and furious writing pace with the goal in mind for many of us to reach the days word count before leaving.

Some of us met this goal, and some of us did not. Despite not having any sort of idea (not even a main character) of what I was writing a mere half hour before midnight, I still managed to reach 1957 words before 2am rolled around and the last of us headed out to our respective homes and beds. As expected, there was much enjoyment and laughter to be had at the kick off last night (or was it this morning? I never know).

As you probably have guessed, there is a story behind my sudden discovery of a plot, and its one that I’m rather fond of. It starts with a jar. Now, this isn’t just any old jar that can be found in the back of your cupboard or on a store shelf, this is a very special jar: its a jar of magical plot devices and word boosters. This wonderful and fabulous jar is the reason that I had any plot at all when I started my nano novel last night (I decided to call it that since that’s what it feels like). Normally I’m a pantser, an author who writes from the seat of their pants, no planning or definite plot in sight, but this year would have been a whole new level of pantsing it for me, for I didn’t even have a main character. And that dilemma didn’t clear itself once I’d started writing until the second chapter (it had remained during the prologue and first chapter who the actual MC would be), the MC (= main character) is a 21 year old female who is telling the story of her mother’s adventures, or at least the summary of it (I decided at the last minute that I didn’t want that to be the whole novel summarized what was left of her daring but unsuccessful adventures). The only character in my story to have a name so far is the FMC, Clara, and she got her name when her mother called her to wake her up.

Now, I just realized that I hadn’t shared the wonderful plot device I pulled from the magical jar that spurred this soon to be fabulous story I’m writing into existence, it was: “a magical object falls from the sky” (that’s a paraphrase). Great, huh? In my story, an unidentified object falls from the sky, and is lost in the world. Soon, a beautiful woman of unreliable description descends from the clouds in search of this object, offering great rewards to the one who returns it to her. The object is never found and the world is encased in a seal of clouds (this actually happened shortly after the object landed) that only parts in small places to let a little of the sun shine through. It still rains normally, as if the clouds aren’t there.

That is my wonderful plot for this year’s National Novel Writing Month, and I’m sure that if Kali wishes, she’ll add hers to end of this fabulous post when she reads. Or she won’t if she doesn’t want to.

Wonderful, smile filled days for you all and happy writing!
~ Rachel

P.S. I believe that everyone has a novel in them, and only requires the outlet for it. Allow Nanowrimo to be your outlet and join our crazy and wonderful adventure at www.nanowrimo.org!

Leave a Reply

