Knitting Adventure

Hello!

Recently I’ve been spending a lot of time alone with nothing to really do, and as a result I have taken up a hobby that I’ve been on and off about since I was 11; knitting. Basically all I knew how to do before I started my most recent finished project, was how to knit, purl, cast on and bind off.

The pattern: found in the January issue of Simply Knitting.

The pattern: found in the January issue of Simply Knitting.

This project required me to learn how to increase two stitches at a time, decrease in two different ways, how to yo (yarn over) and how to make it so that when one uses yo, they aren’t left with a hole in their project. Since I was knitting this in the round, I also learned how to Sl2tog and p2sso. Those gave me quite a worry when I first read the pattern, since I thought it was asking me to slip 12 stitches together, not 2. I didn’t think this was possible, especially with how to project was at that point in the pattern (the end). That was quite a worry, especially since I was away from Amelia (my laptop) for several hours after coming across that in the pattern.

Now, I feel like I can do a whole lot more with knitting with my new repertoire of knitting jargon. Now for a series of photographs throughout the project. It took me about 10 hours of knitting to complete. I knit slow.

When I reached this far, I thought I'd done so much. I realize now that I wasn't even half way...

When I reached this far, I thought I’d done so much. I realize now that I wasn’t even half way…

This baby and all its brothers and sisters (there are 20 of them in total) gave me quite a scare, even though they are just eyelets for the drawstring.

This baby and all its brothers and sisters (there are 20 of them) gave me quite a scare, even though they are just eyelets for the drawstring.

The final finished project! It's it just a cute little project bag? It might be too small for anything I knit though... (I've recently taken up knitting sweaters, none are finished but three are started).

The final finished project! It’s it just a cute little project bag? It might be too small for anything I knit though… (I’ve recently taken up knitting sweaters, none are finished but three are started).

For some reason I still enjoy knitting and I hope to finish the multiple sweaters that I have on the go at some point in the future. When exactly will be the real question.

– Rachel

Leave a Reply

