Cupcakes!

Hello!

So, today I decided to bake some cupcakes in true PinkiePie style, and they turned out delicious!

They didn't rise as much as the recipe said they would...

They didn’t rise as much as the recipe said they would…

I’ve only heard that they are delicious, though, since I haven’t tried any myself, yet. I’m waiting for the icing to be done to do that (I thought we had icing sugar, but we don’t, so I’m waiting until we get some and put it on the cupcakes to eat one. And maybe some food dye, too.)

My Aunt was over helping me a bit, reading me the recipe and offering advice about certain things regarding baking in general. Like, the fact that she mixes her egg(s) and milk together before adding them to the rest of the ingredients. It was also an adventure, since today I used an electric hand mixer for the first time. I would have sworn that when I put it in, all the ingredients would go flying around the room. They didn’t, and I almost feel sad about the fact. Though grateful I don’t have to clean it up.

A view into the oven while the second batch baked; that's my dad's mini pizza.

A view into the oven while the second batch baked; that’s my dad’s mini pizza.

I only got two batches out the recipe, which is less then last time, but the actual amount that the recipe said it would make. I just don’t normally pay attention to that kind of stuff on a recipe. Though I didn’t really follow this recipe, which is just for plain white cupcakes, to the letter. I substituted the granulated sugar for brown, we didn’t have any vanilla, and I put other things like cinnamon and nutmeg in it.

Finally, after a 10-12min baking period (which surprised my Aunt) the last of the cupcakes were done!

Finally, after a 10-12min baking period (which surprised my Aunt) the last of the cupcakes were done!

I’m going to finish off this post with a song from MLP! The cupcake song! XD

EDIT: And with Icing!

I quite enjoyed drawing on these cupcakes their various squiggles. :)

I quite enjoyed drawing on these cupcakes their various squiggles. 🙂

The icing was simple to make, just icing sugar, butter, milk and vanilla. It takes great and applied super easily. I started with the idea of just covering them all in icing, but it didn’t take long (3 cupcakes to be exact) for me to get bored with that and start drawing different designs and patterns on them. A smaller hole in the ziplock bag’s corner would allow for more intricate designs then I was able to manage this time.

Aren't they all pretty? And I have icing left over for the next time I bake!

Aren’t they all pretty? And I have icing left over for the next time I bake!

Enjoy!
-Rachel

Leave a Reply

