One Handed Count Down!

Finally, the count down to Nanowrimo is down to one hand.

With only 5 sleeps left, the little voice in my head is getting louder and louder about developing my novel idea. It screams for character development, while begging for more information about the world.  It insists that I need a plot and secondary characters before I can start. I disagree, as I always do, when it comes to advance planning for a novel. None of my previous novels got much advance planning, so why should this one? And that’s exactly what I tell the little voice when it starts. Now, as you can imagine, this leads to arguments between me and this little voice which is proving itself to be just as stubborn as me. I’ll win, because I know that the clock will run out and Nanowrimo will start before we come to an agreement. And that’s fine with me. As a peace offering, though, I am dedicating this blog post to that little voice in my head.

Now, that said, it is probably time that I got more into the mechanics of Nanowrimo for those of you who don’t know about it. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and its when authors (yes some people call us crazy, but we don’t mind) write 50,000 words in the 30 days and nights of November. We have from 12:01am November 1st to 11:59pm November 30th to write and submit our novel of at least 50,000 words. Now, this may sound scary but its not. It’s exhilarating and challenging, but at only 1,667 words a day it is manageable. Everyone has a novel or story inside of them that is dying to be released into the world; to see the brightness of your electronic device’s screen as its typed, or to feel the ink soak into the paper as its written out by hand. This is the wish of every story yet to be written, and Nanowrimo is responsible for a lot of those wishes coming true. So, feel free to join both Kali and I this year (here’s a handy link for you) as we fulfil the wish of two more novels. If you already are, here’s a hug and some hot cocoa.

– Rachel

Leave a Reply

