Family BBQs

Imagine this: its early Sunday afternoon the sun is shining, a gentle wind is blowing, tables and chairs are set up across the backyard, and a pig is roasting over a spit. This was the scene of my last family BBQ, and boy did we have a lot of fun.

I’ve only been to one pig roast before, and I’m pretty sure that they didn’t cook the meat long enough because it tasted a bit off, so I had no idea what to expect from the meal, other then the usual massive amount of food. Papa built the spit himself 25 years ago, and just loves having any excuse to pull it out. I was very pleased to taste the pig and find it delicious and moist. Everything tasted delicious as usual.

I think the cherries in the eye sockets made her look demonic...

I think the cherries in the eye sockets made her look demonic… but the apple looks delicious.

There were so many of my relatives there, half of them haven’t seen me since I was a toddler if at all, but that was what made it so much fun. I got to spend the afternoon wandering from one group of relatives to the next, catching up on all the latest family gossip. We even had relatives there who live in Japan and have for the past 20 years, it was really nice to see them for the first time in my memory and hear the stories that generation had to share.

All in all, it was a pleasant afternoon that stretched into the wee ends of the day and accompanied by delicious food, hugs, and smiles.

  • Rachel
Leave a Reply

