Get Oriented!

Wow. So I’m officially a law student now. That’s really weird to say and write. I imagine I’ll get used to it in time, but for now it’s still new and exciting.

IMG_0608

Our orientation started last Tuesday and even though it’s only been a few days it feels like we’ve done so much already. The first thing we had to do was go down to the law school (which I have heard referred to as Macdonald Hall, Sir John A, and J-Mac) and verify our enrolment, sign photo release forms, and pick up some swag provided to us by law firms and our orientation tee shirts. My team has a yellow shirt and is Team Avengers.

After that we mingled, picked up our new student cards (mine is horrendous and UVic’s were nicer), and had a bit of a break before meeting our fellow group members and heading out for trivia night.

Graffiti Party

Graffiti Party

Most of the last couple of days have been late nights – there was a graffiti party, a movie night (where my team watched, what else, The Avengers, and a costume party night – where I was a very last minute thrown together Black Widow).

Costume Party

Costume Party

Today is a day off for us which has been nice. My roommate – who I shall call the Musician – and I were picked up by some of her family friends here in Kingston and they took us thrift store shopping. Our best purchase by far is a gorgeous coffee table that we only paid $25 for. After that I took my suit to a tailor and did some grocery shopping. Tomorrow afternoon we have a team potluck before heading out for bowling so I’ll be making cookies.

And I just finished doing my first official law school readings – for Public Law. I think that made it feel more real than anything else has. And, as a treat for myself for finishing my first readings, I pre-ordered my copy of the Welcome to Night Vale novel. Honestly, it’s been a whirlwind of meeting new people, social activities, and the reality that law school is here. I even bought myself a Queen’s law hat. The longer I’m here, the more convinced I am that I made the right decision.

My kind of party :P

My kind of party 😛

  • Kali
Leave a Reply

