The End of Orientation

Wow, it has been a busy time since I last posted here. Classes started on Tuesday and they’re mostly going great. However, that’s not what this post is about. This is the second half of orientation which had its final event last night.

Hooray for anonymity!

Hooray for anonymity!

We went bowling and I actually did pretty well. Or, well, perhaps well might be a bit of an overstatement. But I wasn’t completely awful. I won both games (but I was only playing against one other person). I even managed to get a strike. Unfortunately it was not under my name because I was taking someone else turn while he was away. But still. I’m pretty proud of it.

Go Avengers!

Go Avengers!

The next day was games day. Honestly, not really my thing, but it was actually pretty fun. The games in question were Gladiator (as pictured above), chicken legs (where everyone gets in a circle and throws balls between the legs of others until one person is left standing and your legs have to stay straight the entire time), an inflatable obstacle course, ultimate frisbee, and flip cup (with water). I actually found I had an innate talent at flip cup. Too bad it’s a drinking game and I don’t drink. 😛

"Too Hot! Hot Damn!"

“Uptown Funk you up!’

On Thursday there was karaoke at a pub called Tir Nan Og. Upper years were also invited to this one. I mostly just watched, but I did get up and sing when my whole team went up. They told me we were singing Shania Twain’s “Man, I Feel Like a Woman” and then I got up there and was informed they had changed the song to “Baby Got Back”. I can’t say I really knew that words, but lets be honest – no one really cares. Especially since so many people were drunk.

Classy Gala Spread

Classy Gala Spread

And the final event was a ‘gala’. I’m not exactly sure why they called it a gala, but they did. So we all dressed up – gals in dresses, guys in suits. After that we headed to our first Queen’s Law ‘Smoker’. A Smoker – from what I can tell – is just a bunch of law students gathering at a bar that smells vaguely of smoked meat. Apparently later in the year they are themed and often act as fundraisers for clubs. In my opinion – I came, I saw, and now I can say that I’ve been to a Smoker. I feel no need to go back (shocker, right?).

There have been a few other activities strewn about that I haven’t mentioned – there was a pub night for the mature students, a games night, etc. but I’ve mentioned most of the big stuff. Now that orientation is over it’s really time to get down to work. I’m still pretty excited.

  • Kali
Queen's Law - Class of 2018!

Queen’s Law – Class of 2018!

Leave a Reply

