Saucy Intruder

Some people say that law school is just like going back to high school. In some ways I can see their point – you’re all in one building, you have classes with the same people (though I imagine this is less so in upper years when you get to choose your classes), and you even have lockers.
IMG_0664

Despite all this though there are still times when I’m sitting in class and suddenly it will just hit me – holy crap, I’m actually in law school. I know it’s real, but it’s still kind of hard to believe.

On one of our first days of Property our prof went over a case called Pierson v. Post. The basics of Pierson v. Post are that Post went out to catch a fox, but before he managed it Pierson basically jumped out of the woods and caught the fox – Pierson, according to the judgement, is a ‘saucy intruder’. But Pierson got to keep the fox; sometimes the saucy intruder wins (even if he is a jerk). And sometimes I feel like the saucy intruder of law school. Like I don’t deserve to be here, but I finagled my way in anyway. And the judges somehow came down on my side.

How is a shipwreck like a fox?

How is a shipwreck like a fox? Who is the saucy intruder?

But, then sometimes I do feel like I fit. I understand what is going on in classes, I’m keeping up with the reading (for now), and I was even selected for a position with Pro Bono Students Canada. And, if nothing else, I am sitting in the law lounge at 9am. So I guess I must belong.

Chai latte from CoGro - I still kind of miss Biblio though!

Chai latte from CoGro – I still kind of miss Biblio though!

  • Kali
Leave a Reply

