English Country Walk

I’m not generally a huge fan of rural life, but it really is quite pretty even if I don’t think I could live here for more than a couple months. Where is here? Well, the Castle of course.

Yes, that’s right. I’ve arrived in England and classes have started here. I was able to spend a few days in London too and ended up meeting up with one of my best friends (& her boyfriend) and we went to Warner Brothers Studios to see the Making of Harry Potter. I have pictures from that, but currently my camera is not cooperating so I have no way to access the photos so a post about that will have to come later.

Instead, I’ll share a bit of the countryside around the Castle I’m currently calling home.

This was the cutest little church we ran into right near the Castle. The oldest grave we were able to read had a death date of 1763, but we didn’t look at all of them and there were definitely more than a couple we couldn’t read.

8bade0b7-6ddb-43f0-81e5-fe367f77dbe2

Quite honestly I just liked the name of this place. I also like that all the houses around here seem to have names. I’m not sure how you pronounce Lyng (I’ve been saying ling though – so it rhymes with ring), but I do know that whoever this named this place was on point with their naming skills.

The streets around the Castle are narrow and I was a little bit nervous about cars, but the view was beautiful so I can see myself doing it again some time.

a13c2ee0-d060-4e0a-9e5a-d0044e81a7dc

Isn’t this place adorable? I don’t remember what it was named (though I’m pretty positive it was not Cleavers Lyng), but I couldn’t resist taking a photo. Honestly, walking around here sometimes makes me feel like I belong in a Jane Austen novel or something.

95df856d-780e-49c9-8b3a-4ea6408d5491

Classes are busy, but every weekend is a 3 day weekend. Tomorrow we have a legal tour of London which sounds like it should be fun (but a real early day). I’m going to miss the professor we had this week though (Prof. L). He’s got the most adorable German accent and I’m pretty sure he doesn’t quite know what to make of us other than laughing at us.

But you know, if I were him I would be laughing too.

  • Kali

 

Leave a Reply

